Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

When will Picassa go online????

Google was talking up the fact that Picassa is now available in 25 languages. And if you speak Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Tagalog, Polish, Romanian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Catalan, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, or Vietnamese I’m truly very happy for you.

But when oh when is Picassa going to have an online equivalent. As much as I love Flickr, I struggle to keep it up-to-date because it’s another step in my photo filing process, which I already consider laborious.

What I want is to download my files into Picassa (preferably with some intelligent tagging) and then have the software automatically start uploading the files into the online version. ideally, online/offline should then stay synched.

That’s something I’d definitely pay for so it represents a way for Google to actually monetise its Picassa investment, as well. Quite frankly, I’m staggered this hasn’t happened already.

Filed under: Online Applications, Online Photo Libraries

10 Responses

  1. Duncan says:

    Didn’t they use to have an online photo sharing service? I’m sure it was available to export to in Picassa 1.0 but I noticed its gone in 2.0. Can’t for the life of me remember the name though, but there it there, I’m sure of it :-)

  2. Phil — I think it’s because Google owns Hello, a picture-sharing instant messaging kind of thing, as well as Blogger (which Hello interfaces with) and they’d rather push that as a way of sharing photos. But I agree it’s frustrating. If they had an online component I would use Picasa way more — as it is, I hardly use it at all.

  3. Jeff says:

    Strongly agree. I maintain a personal webspace that mainly runs Gallery (http://gallery.sf.net). I like this a lot, but it would be nice if it was more streamlined.

    I find “hello” a non-starter, as all of my users (that is, my family) would have to create accounts and download the software, etc. Lets just say that my family won’t exactly be comfortable doing much more than “surfing”.

    Blogger is okay, but I don’t really have much to say, I mainly want to post my gigs of images of the baby(s) for the grandparents.

  4. Phil Sim says:

    Yeh I never got Hello at all, either. The whole idea is not intuitive. I’ve never used it because I can’t even conceptualise how it works or how it would benefit me, so what chance, as Jeff says, do I have of getting my mum to use it…

    It’s kind of difficult to look at something like Riya and think about how advanced that concept is, when nobody can even get online/offline photo libraries to work!

  5. Rob Irwin says:

    Isn’t it just great that an almost entirely visual service comes in so many languages… *chortle*

  6. Eric Scalf says:

    I’ve heard rumors floating around for a while now, that some fairly talented coders are trying to develop an extension to Picasa that will integrate it with Flickr. Although it won’t interface directly with Picasa (it would be a stand-alone, or alongside, application), it will run in the background and keep everything up to date.

    The way I hear it, you would be able to designate – within the program – the Picassa folders that would be synchronized, and whether they are synched upload, download, or both (i.e. picassa uploads to flickr from one folder, downloads from flickr to another, and synchs a third both ways. Although that would be fully configurable, and all folders could do both). You would also be able to specify which tags on Flickr would be synched. There is, supposedly, a method to tag pictures in Picasa, and those tags would transfer (and vice-versa).

    Unfortunately, though, this is all rumor, at this point. Whether this comes to pass, or not, remains to be seen. It would be nice if it did.

  7. […] This is a good question: When will Picassa go online? It would make life a lot easier. […]

  8. More Google-bashing — this time on Picasa

    I don’t want to get into a big Google-bashing rant, after knocking their lame bookmark offering, but Phil Sim of Squash makes a good point in a post today about another Google service: Picasa, the photo-organizing software the company bought way …

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

