Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Bloody RSS

The ProBlogger post explaining how you can see how many Google Reader subscribers you have caught my attention because my RSS traffic has always been a bit of a mystery to me, especially since WordPress.com dropped its RSS stats. Web traffic is nice and easy to measure, RSS traffic not so!

I really, really wish I had switched to a Feedburner RSS feed when I first started this blog but doing so down the track doesn’t seem to make sense as any stats I get from Feedburner will only show a portion of the picture. Now I know, there’s a way to divert your WordPress default RSS to Feedburner but when your running off the hosted WordPress.com it isn’t so simple so I’ve never bothered and therefore never really had a good idea of what kind of RSS traffic I was getting.

Apparently, I’ve got 197 Google Reader subscribers which I’m feeling pretty good about considering how little I’ve been blogging recently. If you’ve been reading Squash for a while, you’d know that during the Rugby League season down here in Australia I don’t blog a lot on Squash because I write another blog about the team I follow which pretty much absorbs any spare time I have. But Footy season is over now so I’m hoping to try and blog daily again. It will certainly be nice to have a metric like this Google Reader one – as incomplete as it obviously is – to see if I have any luck at building this sucker up again.

Filed under: AJAX Challenge

4 Responses

  1. firebird says:

    RSS traffic has always been a bit of a mystery to me, especially since WordPress.com dropped its RSS stats. Web traffic is nice and easy to measure, RSS traffic not so!

  2. John Graves says:

    An attic fan requires additional roof vents to draw in fresh air as the hot air is exhausted. A whole house fan is a primary natural cooling device that can significantly enhance, reduce or even eliminate the need for ‘manufactured’ cool air. Consuming far less energy than air conditioning, a whole house fan can significantly lower the temperature in a building very quickly. Effective whenever outdoor temperatures drop below indoor temperatures, an AirScape Whole House Fan can cool down your home and your electric bills.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

