Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Google starts stalking

So we all heard about Google’s profiling and how Adsense would soon start serving up advertisements based on not just where you are, but also where you’ve been. Well I just got hit by it on my own hobby site and I got to say it’s a bit creepy.

As I’ve mentioned I run a Parramatta Eels rugby league site called 1Eyed Eel. The other sporting team I follow regularly is Tottenham Hotspur in the English Premier League.

So there I am on 1eyedeel.com and I get hit with an ad for Tottenham Hotspur bottle coolers! See below:

1eyed

Now there are no mention of Tottenham on the page or indeed anywhere on 1Eyed Eel. So the only way Google would know to serve up that ad is based on the fact that I regularly vistit tottenhamhotspur.com.

Getting back to the point I was making previously, this somewhat sucks for tottenhamhotspur.com who don’t get any financial benefit from my visiting their site because they don’t have adsense. If tottenhamhotspur.com had a Google ad unit on their page though, presumably I would have seen this ad already on their site and so wouldn’t have been so interested when I saw it on another site.

In this respect, Google is almost holding the web to ransom! If you don’t have an Adsense unit, we’ll just show your ads on somebody elses website and they’ll make the money you could have made. That’s pretty scary.

For my little 1Eyed Eel site I’m thinking it should result in pretty healthy increases in CPM. There’s not a big market for targetted content for Eels fans so my CPM is miniscule. It will be interested to see what difference this profiling makes!

Filed under: AJAX Challenge

2 Responses

  1. tenis oakley says:

    This article is very important i like google, tanks.

  2. tenis oakley says:

    Read this article yesterday and Im thinking… where internet going ? Someday tv will be in internet, and everybody will be a homepage.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

