Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Google on my car stereo?

In Sydney, a new tollway has opened up out my way and it’s been free for the first month or so of operation. Today, I decided to check it out, however, I wasn’t quite sure if the free period had ended and I was going to get slapped with a bill for travelling down a couple of kilometres strech of toll-road without an e-tag.

Anyway, no sooner had the question of, when does that free period expire, then an ad comes on the radio for the new freeway, saying the free trail period ends in four days so make sure you try it out.

To me, that’s exactly why Google’s star should keep rising. This whole, targetted ad trend has a looooong way to go and the technology required to keep advancing it, is going to become increasingly complicated.

Sending you a targetted ad based on what your reading on the web is a breeze, sending you a targetted television ad based on viewing habits is quite a bit more difficult. And then delivering a radio advertisement, based on exactly where you’re listening from, is a whole different story altogether. This is absolutely the way of the future – noise eradication – and Google has the best position and resources to take advantage of.

If I was a Google shareholder, I’d be mightily annoyed at announcements like Google Pack, because those type of things are just distractions from what is its main game. And that game just happens to be the biggest thing in town. I don’t go for this diversified business model bullshit. If I was Google I’d be sticking every cent into making sure I continued to own the targetted ad market.

Filed under: Online Advertising

One Response

  1. […] Now, we’re not going to claim that we broke the news of Google jumping into radio advertising but a week or so ago, I did write a post called Google on my car stereo? in which I said: To me, that’s exactly why Google’s star should keep rising. This whole, targetted ad trend has a looooong way to go and the technology required to keep advancing it, is going to become increasingly complicated. […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

