Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Blogging is like cognitive aerobics

A little while ago I wrote a post called about blog fatigue, which has popped up in my traffic figures again because Scott Karp, who I originally referenced in that post, brought it up to support an argument he made about the long tail fading.

Based on that, I thought I might actually post and update as to where I’m at in my development as a blogger.
I actually think I’ve turned a corner and blogging is getting easier again because:

1) I’ve developed a routine

2) I’m starting to think as a blogger

Pretty much before I go to bed each night, I trawl through memeorandum, digg, reddit and a couple of my very favourite blogs as a reading exercise.

NOTABLE OBSERVATION: The only time I find my way to a Big Media site is if its been linked to. I’ve been asking myself why is that? I think it’s because I’m no longer just willing to consume news. I want immediate contextualisation and analysis. I want to save time. Why would I read a news piece, digest it, analyse it, draw some conclusions when somebody has already done a lot of that work for me. In fact, it’s likely that five or six people have already embarked on that exercise, so it makes a lot more sense for me to analyse the analysis where I should be able to draw deeper, more insightful reasoning from any news issue.

So I have a couple of hours where I read and blog at the end of my day. It just happens to coincide with the part of the day, or should I say night, when I think I do my best thinking. If you set aside a part of your day to blog, it’s not nearly as invasive as when I was blogging whenever an idea popped into my head. (That said, I will occassionally throw up a quick link post at times outside of my blogging period, but I save all my longer, analytical pieces for my Blog Time).

Along with that, I think I read differently now. When I was an editor/journalist churning through a hundred press releases a day, you read to critique. You’re looking for mistakes, angles, insights, anything where you can value-add. I now find myself doing that with EVERYTHING I read. I no longer just consume media, I now very much see myself as being part of a knowledge cycle and so I’m looking for every opportunity where I think I can add something to that process.

Subsequently, I’m having more ideas and creating more insight, in most every other part of my life. For me, blogging has become a kind of cognitive aerobics routine that keeps my mind fit and active.
Now, if only I could find the motivation to do the same thing for my body.

Filed under: Blogs

4 Responses

  1. jessica says:

    What happened to you? You used to be the voice of reason and now you sound like the rest of the web 2.0 crowd.

  2. Phil Sim says:

    God no! I’m going to raid the fridge for any traces of Kool Aid now… Thanks for the wake-up call, Jessica.

  3. Hah, yeah. I subscribed a week ago and categorized this site as “fun!” (along with Go Flock Yourself). Then I downgraded it to “web2.0”.

  4. heta13 says:

    I like your point of “Value-adding,” especially at this time of information explossion, people tends to absorb as much of information as we can, but forgotten our own value and perspective.

Leave a Reply

Categories

