Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Doing not blogging

As a journalist you spend you're working life is primarily devoted to writing or commenting on the things that other people are doing rather than actually “doing” much yourself outside of that reporting. The irony of the situation is being priviledged to the journalist's point of view is actually the greatest education you can get to being able to go out there and really do something. Since launching MediaConnect five years ago, I've constantly drawn on the wisdom, experience and contacts that I was able to pick up along the way as a journalist.

Blogging is not dissimiliar. I started blogging because I decided that I was never going to understand what blogging was all about until I started doing it myself and in the process I've picked up a whole bunch of knowledge, contacts and experience in a multitude of areas along the way.

However, I've become a firm believer that unless you do eventually get up out of your armchair and get out and do something a lot of that knowledge simply withers away unused. So when I started blogging at the start of the year I made a New Years Resolution that I'd only blog about things that I was actually doing. So I've had a couple of side projects running alongside my main business and this week both are going to get some oxygen as we finally flick the “on” switch.

The first is the realisation of my vision for the 1Eyed Eel blog I've been running for the last two years. I'm treating this project as my opportunity to put into practice all the ideas and theories I have about next generation media sites and we took the wraps off that one this week. I'll go into more detail in a separate blog post.

The second project is the online company I've been consulting to. All going well, we're going to put out to beta the first iteration of that project in the next couple of days. I can't tell you how excited I am about this project – if we achieve what we want to achieve it's really going to be quite special.

Anyway, that's why Squash has laid dormant for a few days. In days gone by, I would have stressed about Squash withering away, people unsubscribing and my traffic falling through the fall. I'm now much more relaxed about my blog. If I don't get to it for a couple of days because I'm 'doing' rather than 'blogging' than so be it. There's always something to Squash tomorrow (although be prepared for Squash to be a little self-indulgent this week – we're proud of our babies and we want to show them off!)

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. Renai LeMay says:

    hi Phil,

    “As a journalist your working life is primarily devoted to writing or commenting on the things that other people are doing rather than actually “doing” much yourself outside of that reporting.”

    In a certain sense you are right that journalists don’t “do” anything as such, we are rather writing about what other people do.

    But I actually see my role as one of creating community.

    My writing is a focal point for people interested in information technology and communications, and ZDNet is providing a forum for those people to communicate with each other.

    In this alternative sense, journalists are doing quite a lot.

    Cheers,

    Renai

    ps when you spill the beans about this myserious project you’ve been working on, as a loyal Squash reader I want the exclusive🙂

  2. Phil Sim says:

    Hey Renai, yes I agree and I when I wrote that I was a bit conscious that it might sound like I was denigrating the craft or role of journalism just trying to differentiate between writing or talking about something and doing it. I think this is probably where journalists and blogging diverge – maybe journalists write primarily with the aim of building an audience/community whereas bloggers write for themselves…

  3. Brock says:

    “In days gone by, I would have stressed about Squash withering away, people unsubscribing and my traffic falling through the fall.”

    That’s the beauty of RSS. I don’t have to remember or make any other effort to get the lastest Squash; when you’re ready, the post comes to me. There are blogs on my RSS feed that post once a month (maybe), but since the blogger is someone who I’m interested it, it stays on.

    Kind’a like the Sopranos, I guess.

  4. Rob Irwin says:

    Everyone went quiet over Easter anyway, mate. Welcome back🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

