Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

Google Docs ties with your domain

If you have a Google Apps for your Domain account, you can now log into Google Docs and Spreadsheets using your Google-managed user names.

We’ve had our domain hosted with Google now for a few months, but I’ve held off moving away from my gmail user account because I like the single sign-in factor I have with that. The big obstacle for me was not being able to log in to Docs and Spreadsheets with my MediaConnect username as I spend a bunch of time in that app every day as it has become my primary word processor these days.

However, last weekend I thought I might try logging into D&S with my mediaconnect login and it worked no problems at all, although its still not linked to in top left-hand corner of my email.

I wonder why that is? I hope it’s because Google has something bigger planned that simple integration of D&S and GAFYD (and Google can we please get some nicer names for these two apps).

I’m absolutely dying for Google to integrate Jotspot into all this. I have very much come to the conclusion that is the app that brings all this stuff together for SMEs.

My frustation at the moment, is that Zoho has pretty much done this with its recent ZohoWiki, which does tie together its spreadsheet and docs, and furthermore they tie it together further via their Virtual Office product. About six months ago, I came to the conclusion I had to back one horse on this front and chose the Google path, one because of their size and two because I’m so in love with GMail. When they release Google Calendar and Apps for your Domain I was feeling pretty good about that decision, but right now when we’re looking to really built out a corporate intranet faciltiy I’m dying for that Wiki piece of the puzzle to drop into place.

But I do have much faith in the Jotspot team. I think what they were creating with Jotspot was stunning and I have every faith that they can produce something special now they’re in the Googleplex.

P.S. Would Yahoo or even MS hurry up and buy Zoho. These big Internet heavyweights should look at Zoho and be shamed and red-faced as to the suite of web tools they’ve produced compared to what Zoho has pumped out. Unfortunately, I think for all their brilliance Zoho really needs a popular mail client to make everything come together on a personal productivity basis.

Filed under: Google, Online Applications, Online Spreadsheets, Online Wordprocessing, Web 2.0, Zoho

7 Responses

  1. tom says:

    I too decided to back the Google horse in this particular race, again due to the brilliance of GMail and Google Calendar and the collaborative wiki-like nature of D&S. The acquisition of Jotspot put the icing on the cake.

    While I still host my mail with GAfYD, I’ve pulled my website due to the robots.txt fiasco (see http://gobansaor.wordpress.com/2006/12/20/google-apps-for-your-domain-and-robotstxt/).
    I’m now having trouble setting up a GAfYD email address as an alternative email on my PayPal account – whether it’s PayPal or Google that’s at fault I’m not sure as trying to get an answer out of either of these behemoths is not the easiest thing in the world (unlike the Zoho folks who are most helpful and approachable).

    Bottom line, I’m still reluctant to recommend GAfYD to non-techy friends or clients. Being the Google fan-boy that I am, I live it hope, but if Zoho did manage to tie up with a major player I might jump ship.

    Tom

  2. Raju Vegesna says:

    Great article Phil. We didnt open up Zoho Mail (part of Zoho Virtual Office) yet. It’ll be opened before 1Q 2007. Hopefully we’ll have you as our user by then🙂.

  3. flash says:

    Still ain’t working with our hosted domain. The double login is definitely a big inconvenience. Hopefully they roll this out to all hosted domains soonest.

  4. Vlad Mayzel says:

    Phil,

    How did you manage to log into Google Docs and Spreadsheets using your Google Apps account?

    As far as I know it is still not possible, unless you used your GMail account as an admin account for your Google Apps.

    I just tried it, right this minute while I am writing it, just to be sure. There is no link anywhere inside Google Apps e-mail or Calendar or or any other page I’ve tried to the Google Docs and Spreadsheets. I also tried to go to directly to docs.google.com and provide my user name and password that I use with Google Apps exclusively (not my GMail account) – it does not accept it.

    Our clients keep asking it and so far my answer is still the same, that unfortunately Google still does not allow the users of Google Apps to access Google Docs and Spreadsheets.

    Yes, Google may have big future plans but it seems the least logical to me. If you compare the need of Google Docs and Spreadsheets for home users (using GMail) and business users (using Google Apps), looks like business users may benefit the most from ability to collaborate online. Yet it is not available (or not easily accessible) as of the time of writing this.

    Am I missing something here?

    Vlad Mayzel,
    Operations Manager
    http://www.604-GET-HELP.com

  5. Phil Sim says:

    Vlad, I must have gotten in when they were testing.

    About a week after I wrote this post, I lost my ability for people to share docs with me, then when I tried to log in, it said:

    Your docs have been forwarded to your gmail account…

    They definitely have the ability to do this, I’ve seen it work, so I don’t know where they are not rolling it out

  6. Vlad Mayzel says:

    Phil,

    Thank you for your reply. I did not even expect you would take time to do so😉

    Well, it is great to have an assurance that it is not just crazy me who may have missed something important, but rather an objective condition confirmed by another professional😉

    By the way, you mentioned that you lost the ability to SHARE your docs. I wasn’t able to even CREATE them on the first place. I think the main difference is that you used your GMail account for something related to the apps and I did not – I registered all accounts with brand new admins having no relation to GMail

    Still, thanks for your reply and let us keep an eye on what next Google will come up with😉

    Vlad Mayzel, Operations Manager
    604-GET-HELP On-Site Computer Services
    Tel: 604-GET-HELP (604-438-4357)
    Web: www. 604-GET-HELP.com

  7. Vlad Mayzel says:

    Hi All,

    All of the above all of the sudden became irrelevant. Google just rolled over its newest release of Google Apps and they now include Docs and Spreadsheets along other services. To turn it on, just go to Services and add it to activate. Now it all works for me and my clients beautifully. One little glitch though. What they call collaboration is only half-done, meaning that as of the time of writing this, if I make a document shared and give rights to access it to every other user, there is no way for them to know or to access it from their interface unless I send them an encrypted link.

    Vlad Mayzel

Leave a Reply

Categories

