Phil Sim

Web, media, PR and… footy

GMail down and it’s killing me!

UPDATE: I’m finally back up. At some point GMail came back, but my Google Apps for your Domain mail account took at least three hours.

I’ve been sitting here for the last half hour, trying to access my Google gmail, calendar, etc, etc without luck.

TechCrunch has written a series of posts noting that Google has been having quite a few tech problems of late and it does provide some cause for concern. I’ve become almost totally dependent on Google products and when they grind to a halt, so do I!

Tamara, who I sit next to here at work, refuses to give up Outlook and we have constant back and forth over the respective merits of our email solutions. Right now, she’s laughing.

GMail is Down

Yesterday, I was writing up the IT component of our business plan and I wrote the following:

” MediaConnect Australia’s goal is to operate a wholly online on-demand IT model, using a combination of web applications. This allows our staff to access their information from any computer at any time, minimises risk caused by IT malfunctions, and effectively removes the need for inhouse IT expertise, enabling IT to be delivered at a low-cost while still delivering high value.”

Calendar Down too

Days like today are a bit of a reality check…

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. erwin blom says:

    But let’s face it, with a big IT-department you can have problems as well …. Google is your IT-department and they are big!

  2. I use google apps for my domain too, and it is great … except when it goes down.

    I use it via outlook and Online.

    But if I could synch the google calendar with my phone, I might never use outlook again … especially if I could stop Firefox from crashing.

  3. […] Phil Sim at Squash  I’ve become almost totally dependent on Google products and when they grind to a halt, so […]

  4. […] Phil Sim at Squash  I’ve become almost totally dependent on Google products and when they grind to a halt, so do […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

